This site is intended for health professionals only

Next RCGP president announced

6 June 2012

Share this article

Former GP Professor Mike Pringle has been elected as the new president of the Royal College of GPs (RCGP).

Following a ballot of the college’s membership, Professor Pringle will take up his new role at the end of the RCGP’s Annual General Meeting on 16 November 2012, succeeding President Dr Iona Heath.

Full results are as follows:

1. Professor Mike Pringle

2. Dr John Chisholm

3. Dr Una Coales

4. Professor Jacky Hayden

5. Dr Terry Kemple

6. Sir John Oldham

“I am delighted and honoured to have been elected as the 23rd President of the RCGP,” he said,

“I would like to thank the Members who voted for me and who have put their trust and confidence in me. I would also like to thank my fellow candidates for contesting this election in a fair, honest and open way. 

“Iona Heath will be a very hard act to follow but I will do my very best to represent the College and support its members.”
Professor Pringle was a GP on the Nottinghamshire-Lincolnshire border for over 30 years.  He is Emeritus Professor of General Practice in the University of Nottingham and was RCGP Medical Lead for Revalidation and Chair of Trustee Board in the RCGP. 

Election results for the six Nationally-Elected Council Member candidates have also been announced. The following successful candidates will begin their three year terms of office from 17 November 2012:

Dr Una Coales

Dr Maureen Baker

Dr Tim Ballard

Dr Terry John

Professor Valerie Wass

Dr Kirsty Baldwin