This site is intended for health professionals only

Last call for 2008 Health and Social Care Awards entries

10 January 2008

Share this article

Practice managers have been invited to put themselves and their teams forward for an award celebrating innovation and excellence at the frontline of health in England, which this year includes a category for commissioning.

This year’s Health and Social Care Awards – run in partnership between the Department of Health and the NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement – are closing for entries on 8 February.

The 2008 awards include a new set of categories, including “Excellence in Commissioning”, which acknowledges the importance of commissioning in health and social care services.

Helen Bevan, Director of Service Transformation at the NHS Institute, said: “The inclusion of an award to celebrate world-class commissioning highlights how important it is to the modern NHS and how essential it is to achieve best possible outcomes for patients and users of health and social care services.

“I urge everyone involved in innovative commissioning to think about entering the award, giving you the opportunity to share your successes with other organisations in the health and social care sector.”

Now in their seventh year, the Health and Social Care Awards aim to reward success and demonstrate where innovation, inspired thinking, good practice and partnership working have brought improvements to health and social care.

The programme is run at regional and national level this year, extending across 10 regions in England. The Strategic Health Authorities and Care Services Improvement Partnership (CSIP) is working with the NHS Institute to deliver this national programme at local level.

Regional category winners from across the country will compete, through a second tier judging process, in the national final.

The national winners will be announced on 1 July 2008 at the National Awards Ceremony in London, coinciding with the NHS 60th Anniversary celebrations.

Health and Social Care Awards