This site is intended for health professionals only

Former RCGP chair elected to council

3 June 2014

Share this article

Six members – including former chair Dr Clare Gerada – are set to join the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) council.

The six successful members were:

 – Clare Gerada (pictured)

 – Trisha Greenhalgh

 – Mayur Lakhani

 – Elaine McNaughton

 – John Cosgrove

 – Clare Taylor

Overall 5,187 votes were submitted, accounting for 14.9% of the RCGP membership.

Only members of the RCGP voted in this election, which was carried out by the Electoral Reform Services (ERS).

The elected members will take up their positions in November 2014 and will serve three years.

RCGP chief executive and council returning officer, Neil Hunt said: “I am very pleased to say that voter turnout was more than double what it was last year, and I would like to thank everyone who voted. We are committed to continue our efforts to increase voter turnout and male Council elections as inclusive of as many members as possible.”

“I would like to thank all the candidates for putting themselves forward and making this an open and closely-contested election. All of the candidates had excellent credentials and valuable experience.”