This site is intended for health professionals only

Second set of CQC inspections begin

19 June 2014

Share this article

The new-approach inspections of GP practices are set to continue in June, in the second round.

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) inspection teams will consist of an expert inspector, a GP, a nurse or a practice manager and trainee GP. 

Additionally, the teams may include an Expert by Experience – a patient with experience of care and GP practices.

The review will look at the response of practices to patients’ needs and consider the quality of communication between GP practices and out-of-hours care and local services such as care homes and emergency services.

The clinical commissioning groups (CCG) areas up for inspection are:

– Greater Preston

– Oxford

– Lewisham

– Leicester

– South Devon & Torbay

– Wakefield

– Sandwell & West Birmingham

– Gloucester & Newham

– Sunderland

– Cambridge & Peterborough

– Hillingdon