This site is intended for health professionals only

Last chance to enter Practice Manager of the Year Award

by Jess Hacker
28 May 2021

Share this article

Do you know a practice manager who should be recognised for their outstanding work this year?

Entries for the General Practice Awards 2021 will close on Tuesday, 1 June.

Practice staff can nominate their practice manager for the Practice Manager of the Year Award, which will recognise a manager whose individual efforts and initiatives have improved their practice’s performance in the last 18 months.

Nominations for the award may demonstrate a practice manager’s commitment to delivering patient-focused services, an understanding of their local population’s needs, their role in establishing a PCN, or a passion for supporting the ‘professional and personal development of team members’.

The deadline for entries is 1 June, with the ceremony taking place on 10 December.

Entrants will be judged against evidence of ‘exceptional local leadership’, measured improvements to patient care such as clinical outcomes and financial management, and how these qualities have influenced their practice’s performance.

This year marks the 13th annual General Practice Awards, which are held by Management in Practice’s publisher, Cogora.

Teams are also encouraged to submit nominations for the Receptionist/admin team of the Year award, celebrating staff members whose attention to detail improved ‘the organisation of the surgery, the overall ambience and patient experience’, particularly during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Applications are also open for the General Practice Team of the Year award, which recognises multidisciplinary teams who can outline how they implemented an initiative or project to improve patient care or experience.

In the 2020 ceremony, practice managers Charlotte Luck and Emily Spalding – of The Meads Medical Centre in East Sussex, and The Swan Surgery in Hampshire – were jointly awarded Practice Manager of the Year.