This site is intended for health professionals only

GPs among those recognised in New Year Honours list

by Sofia Lind
4 January 2023

Share this article

Several GPs have been recognised in the New Year Honours list, including former chair and president of the RCGP Professor Mayur Lakhani, who has been knighted for services to general practice.

Professor Lakhani is currently chair of the Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management and a GP at Highgate Medical Centre in Loughborough.

Other GPs receiving various lower New Year Honours included:

  • London GP Dr Minal Bakhai, the director of primary care transformation at NHS England, for services to General Practice, particularly during Covid-19.
  • RCGP treasurer and South London GP Dr Stephen Mowle, for services to healthcare.
  • Powis GP Dr Andrew Raynsford, for services to the NHS in Wales.
  • Macmillan chief medical officer Dr Rosemary Loftus, for services to people with cancer.
  • London-based PCN clinical director Dr Naomi Katz, for services to the NHS during Covid-19.
  • London GP Dr Sayyada Mawji, for services to healthcare during Covid-19.
  • Dr Wirinder Bhatiani, former chair of NHS Bolton CCG, for services to health and to diversity in Greater Manchester.

Meanwhile, British Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (BAPIO) president Dr Ramesh Mehta, a paediatrician, received a CBE for services to equality, diversity and inclusion.

And psychiatry expert Professor Louis Appleby, who carried out a review into the impact of GMC fitness-to-practise processes on doctors, has received a knighthood.

Former RGCP chair Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard received a damehood in last year’s New Years Honours list, while fellow former chair Professor Clare Gerada was given the honour in 2020’s Queen’s Birthday list.

A version of this story was first published on our sister title Pulse.