This site is intended for health professionals only

Another 52 CCGs will commission practices

22 December 2015

Share this article

Another 52 clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) have been authorised to take on delegated responsibility for commissioning GP services, NHS England announced.

This announcement is part of the wider plan to achieve place-based commissioning, and will give commissioners further opportunities to improve out-of-hospital services, Ian Dodge, national director for commissioning strategy at NHS England said.

“CCGs are increasingly wanting to join up the commissioning of general practice with other community services in order to develop more integrated care for their communities and patients,” he said.

The 52 CCGs will be able to operate under the new arrangements from April 2016, meaning that in addition to those already taking on these arrangements in 2015/16, approximately half of CCGs will have delegated responsibility in 2016/17.

“Provided that conflicts of interest are managed robustly and properly, we are learning that the delegated model looks most likely to deliver the greatest benefits,” Dodge added.

New delegated commissioning groups:


·       South Tees CCG

·       Hartlepool and Stockton on tees CCG

·       Darlington CCG

·       Northumberland CCG

·       Leeds West CCG

·       Trafford CCG

·       Tameside and Glossop CCG

·       Bolton CCG

·       Doncaster CCG

·       Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale CCG

·       Eastern Cheshire CCG

·       Stockport CCG

·       Greater Huddersfield CCG

·       Leeds North CCG

·       Leeds South and East CCG

·       North Manchester CCG

·       Salford CCG

·       South Manchester CCG

·       Vale Royal CCG

·       South Cheshire CCG

·       Central Manchester CCG

·       Sheffield CCG

·       Bury CCG

Midlands and East

·      Redditch & Bromsgrove CCG

·      Wyre Forest CCG

·      Cambridge & Peterborough CCG

·      Walsall CCG

·      Great Yarmouth and Waveney CCG

·      Corby CCG


·       Richmond CCG

·       Wandsworth CCG

·       Sutton CCG

·       Merton CCG

·       Kingston CCG


·       Isle of Wight CCG

·       North West Surrey CCG

·       Coastal West Sussex CCG

·       West Kent CCG

·       Canterbury and Coastal CCG

·       North East Hampshire and Farnham CCG

·       Southampton City CCG

·       South Reading CCG

·       Wokingham CCG

·       Newbury and District CCG

·       North and West Reading CCG

·       Aylesbury Vale CCG

·       Ashford CCG

·       Swale CCG

·       Dartford Gravesham & Swanley CCG

·       Hastings and Rother CCG

·       Oxfordshire CCG

·       Dorset CCG